Lately I have been thinking of transferring my blog to my own domain. The more I think of it, the more I like it.
One problem, I don’t know the first thing about designing my own webpage. I am also worried about losing my old posts and losing all my subscribers.

I enjoy WordPress and they have worked great for starting out, but I am ready to spread my wings (lol).

I have done some research on how to transfer blogs but I am still not seeing the answer I want. It seems easy enough to choose your domain name (which I have) and pay for it (great prices when you search around).

Hm…just a few thoughts I’m having and wanted to ask all my followers your opinion.
Feel free to add your thoughts and opinions! You, my readers, have the loudest voice.

2 responses »

  1. Michelle says:

    I don’t really know anything about WordPress. But, can’t you switch from wordpress.com to wordpress.org and not lose anything? I finally bought my own domain name a couple months ago, but did it through Blogger. So, I don’t have to change anything, they just redirect everything for me and I can still use the blogger platform. I’m still waiting for all of my numbers to get back to where they were. But, it was the easiest thing for me to do and it still shows as my “own domain”.

    • I have read it’s really easy to switch from WordPress to Blogger…maybe I should switch to Blogger then my own domain. Hmm…
      I can switch to WordPress.org, but it’s more expensive to do the upgrades than it is to just get my own domain (crazy huh?)
      I am still looking and have a friend that is coming down for vacation, so she can help me switch everything (she’s a web design & blog pro lol).

Leave a Reply

